Bipartisan resolution recognizes the continued importance of medical research, education, and awareness for ME/CFS


Washington (May 24, 2019) – Senators Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.) and Susan Collins (R-Maine) today commended passage of a U.S. Senate Resolution recognizing May 12, 2019 as International Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Awareness Day. Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (ME/CFS) is a chronic, complex, and systematic disease that limits the daily activities of up to 2.5 million Americans. Most ME/CFS patients experience fatigue that may not improve with rest, leaving many patients confined to bed and unable to participate in the community. Despite the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention calling ME/CFS “America’s hidden health crisis,” there is a lack of research on ME/CFS and the significant impact it has on affected individuals and their loved ones. The Senators’ resolution recognizes a national commitment to supporting medical research, education, and awareness for ME/CFS and acknowledges the continued importance of collaboration between federal agencies, clinicians, and patients in developing diagnostics and treatments for ME/CFS.


“This resolution is a ray of light on a disease that has been in the shadows for far too long,” said Senator Markey. “Today the Senate sent a clear message to those affected by ME/CFS, and their loved ones, that we will continue to support medical research, education, and awareness on this debilitating condition. Though our work is not done, this is a critical step toward improving the lives of millions of Americans affected by ME/CFS.”


“This bipartisan resolution reaffirms our commitment to improving the lives of individuals living with ME/CFS, an under-diagnosed disease that affects 2.5 million Americans, predominantly women,” said Senator Collins. “I am pleased to join my colleagues in spreading awareness for this truly debilitating condition as we strive to bring hope to individuals struggling with ME/CFS and their families.”


This resolution is co-sponsored by Senators Chris Coons (D-Conn.), Kevin Cramer (R- N.D.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Angus S. King Jr. (I-Maine), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Robert Casey Jr. (D-Penn.) and Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.).


A copy of the resolution can be found HERE.