Current New England Region Office represents six states, ten tribal nations, and 109 airports


Washington (May 24, 2019) – Senator Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.), member of the Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee, today led all New England Senators in strongly advising the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) against a plan to downgrade the New England Regions Airport Division Office to a District Office. The New England Division Office supports the 109 airports across the New England region’s six states and ten tribal nations. Civil aviation and its related industries employ over 237,000 people across New England, generate over $43.7 billion annually, and contribute 3.3 percent of the region’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP). In their letter, the Senators point to such critical infrastructure projects overseen by the Division Office as repaving taxiways at Bradley International Airport, reconstructing a taxiway in Bangor, repaving the apron at Burlington International Airport, reconstructing runways at Martha’s Vineyard Airport, rehabilitating runways and taxiways at T.F. Green International Airport, provide residential sound insulation for the communities surrounding Tweed-New Haven Airport, rehabilitating a taxiway at Manchester-Boston Regional Airport, and constructing a new Airport Rescue and Fire Fighting Building at Hanscom Field


“The New England Division Office provides a level of local expertise that cannot be replicated outside the region, and one that is essential in making effective funding decisions and supporting transportation activities across the Eastern seaboard,” write the Senators in their letter to FAA Acting Administrator Daniel Elwell. “Downgrading the New England Region Airports Division to a District Office would significantly hinder the office’s ability to efficiently address the changing needs of this important region.”


A copy of the letter can be found HERE.


Senators signing the letter include Senators Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Angus King (I-Maine), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), and Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.).