Washington (November 18, 2021) - Senators Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.) and Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) today applauded the Senate Energy and Natural Resource Committee’s bipartisan vote to positively report their legislation, the Cape Cod National Seashore Advisory Commission Reauthorization Act, as well as their bill to protect the Essex National Heritage Area.
The Cape Cod National Seashore Advisory Commission Reauthorization Act would reauthorize the Cape Cod National Seashore Advisory Commission until 2029, after the Advisory Commission expired under current law on September 26, 2018. The senators’ bill to protect the Essex National Heritage Area would reauthorize the Essex National Heritage Area until 2036 and eliminate its total funding cap; the version of the bill voted on in committee would raise the cap to $22 million. The provision authorizing the Secretary of the Interior to provide financial assistance to the Essex National Heritage Area expired on September 30, 2021.
“The Cape Cod National Seashore and Essex National Heritage Area are among the Commonwealth’s greatest natural and cultural treasures,” said Senator Markey. “By reauthorizing both the Cape Cod National Seashore Advisory Commission and the Essex National Heritage Area, we will help protect invaluable parklands, preserve regional history, and restore community involvement in safeguarding Massachusetts’ natural wonders. I am proud that these bills passed out of committee today, and look forward to working with my Senate colleagues to ensure their swift passage.”
“The Cape Cod National Seashore Advisory Commission and Essex National Heritage Area protect the Commonwealth’s natural treasures, strengthen our local economy, and provide opportunities for communities and visitors to learn more about our rich culture and history,” said Senator Warren. “The committee passage of these two bills is great news and I look forward to working with my colleagues in the Senate to ensure their swift passage so we continue to preserve and appreciate these special places for generations to come.”
A copy of the Cape Cod National Seashore Advisory Commission Reauthorization Act can be found HERE.
A copy of the bill to protect the Essex National Heritage Area can be found HERE.
The Cape Cod National Seashore was established on August 7, 1961 “to preserve the natural and historic values of a portion of Cape Cod for the inspiration and enjoyment of people all over the United States.” Last year—during the height of the coronavirus pandemic—the Cape Cod National Seashore provided beauty, recreation, and inspiration to more than 4.1 million visitors.
The Essex National Heritage Area spans 500 square-miles and connects 34 cities and towns through a region that includes Lawrence, Salem, Lynn, and Gloucester. Since the Essex National Heritage Area’s creation in 1996, Congress has been authorized to invest up to $17 million in the area over the course of the area’s lifespan. In 2019, Senators Markey and Warren were able to secure an increase in the funding cap for the Essex National Heritage Area from $17 million to $20 million as part of the John D. Dingell, Jr. Conservation, Management, and Recreation Act.