Resolution Highlights Lasting, Bipartisan Effort to Preserve and Improve Health Programs for All Americans


WASHINGTON Senator Edward J. Markey and Senate Finance Committee Ranking Member Ron Wyden, D-Ore., today led a group of 46 senators to introduce a resolution to commemorate the 50th anniversary of Medicare and Medicaid, which became law in 1965. Wyden also delivered a statement Wednesday marking the 50th anniversary of President Lyndon B. Johnson’s message to Congress where he outlined his principles for health reform that would result in the creation of Medicare and Medicaid. 

Co-sponsors of the resolution include Senators Baldwin, Bennet, Blumenthal, Booker, Boxer, Brown, Cantwell, Cardin, Carper, Casey, Coons, Donnelly, Durbin, Feinstein, Franken, Gillibrand, Heinrich, Heitkamp, Hirono, Kaine, King, Klobuchar, Leahy, Manchin, Markey, McCaskill, Menendez, Merkley, Mikulski, Murphy, Murray, Nelson, Peters, Reed, Reid, Sanders, Schatz, Schumer, Shaheen, Stabenow, Tester, Udall, Warner, Warren, and Whitehouse.


The text of the resolution is available here.