Chairmen Waxman and Markey Announce Hearings on “The American Clean Energy and Security Act of 2009”

** Media Advisory**

FYI Tuesday and Wednesday’s hearings will be joint full committee/subcommittee. Thursday and Friday’s hearings, including the Al Gore/John Warner panel, will be held in the subcommittee.
WASHINGTON, DC - Today Chairman Henry A. Waxman of the Energy and Commerce Committee and Chairman Edward J. Markey of the Energy and Environment Subcommittee announced that the Energy and Commerce Committee will hold four days of legislative hearings on the discussion draft of "The American Clean Energy and Security Act of 2009."
Check back here for updates after the hearings of documents and pictures.
The hearings will examine the views of the Administration and a broad range of stakeholders on the discussion draft.  The schedule for this week follows:

Tuesday, April 21, 2009:  Day 1 Opening Statements
WHEN:      3:00 p.m.
WHERE:      2123 Rayburn House Office Building

Wednesday, April 22, 2009:  Day 2
WHEN:      9:30 a.m.
WHERE:      2123 Rayburn House Office Building

Rep. Markey's Opening Statement on Day 2 (April 22, 2009)

Panel 1:  Administration Views on "The American Clean Energy and Security Act of 2009" Legislation
The Honorable Lisa Jackson, Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
The Honorable Stephen Chu, Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy
The Honorable Ray LaHood, Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation

Panel 2:  United States Climate Action Partnership Views on "The American Clean Energy and Security Act of 2009" Legislation
Charles Holliday, Jr., Chairman, DuPont
Red Cavaney, Senior Vice President, Government and Public Affairs, ConocoPhillips
Jim Rogers, Chairman, President, and CEO, Duke Energy Corp.
Frances Beinecke, President, Natural Resources Defense Council
Meg McDonald, Director, Global Issues, Alcoa Inc.
David Crane, President and CEO, NRG Energy, Inc. 

Panel 3:  Green Jobs and Economic Benefits
The Honorable John Fetterman, Mayor, Braddock, Pennsylvania
Denise Bode, CEO, American Wind Energy Association
Dave Foster, Executive Director, Blue Green Alliance
Kate Gordon, Co-Director, Apollo Alliance
Kevin Knobloch, President, Union of Concerned Scientists
David Manning, Vice President, External Affairs, National Grid
Nathaniel Keohane, Director of Economic Policy and Analysis, Environmental Defense Fund
Frank Ackerman, Senior Economist, Stockholm Environment Institute, U.S. Center, Tufts University

Thursday, April 23, 2009:  Day 3
WHEN:      9:30 a.m.
WHERE:      2123 Rayburn House Office Building

Panel 1:  Allocation Policies to Assist Consumers
Jeff Sterba, Chairman and CEO, PNM Resources Inc. (on behalf of the Edison Electric Institute)
Glenn English, CEO, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association
Mark Crisson, President and CEO, American Public Power Association
John Somerhalder, II, Chairman, CEO, and President, AGL Resources (on behalf of the American Gas Association)
Richard Morgan, Commissioner, District of Columbia Public Service Commission (on behalf of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners)
Richard Cowart, Director, Regulatory Assistance Project
Robert Greenstein, Executive Director, Center for Budget and Policy Priorities       

Panel 2:  Ensuring U.S. Competitiveness and International Participation
Rich Wells, Vice President for Energy, The Dow Chemical Company
Tom Conway, International Vice President, United Steel Workers
Jack McMackin, Principal, Williams and Jensen, LLC (on behalf of the Energy Intensive Manufacturers Working Group on Greenhouse Gas Regulation)
Trevor Houser, Visiting Fellow, Peterson Institute for International Economics
Eliot Diringer, Vice President for International Strategies, Pew Center on Global Climate Change
Pastor Doug Smith, Virginia Interfaith Society for Public Policy   

Panel 3:  Low Carbon Electricity, Carbon Capture and Storage, Renewables, and Grid Modernization
Dr. Howard Gruenspect, Acting Deputy Administrator, U. S. Energy Information Agency
Dian Greunich, Commissioner, California Public Utilities Commission
Dan Reicher, Director of Climate Change and Energy Initiatives, Google, Inc.
Jim Robo, President and Chief Operating Officer, FPL Group
David Hawkins, Director of Climate Programs, Natural Resources Defense Council
Dr. Gregory Kunkel, Vice President for Environment Affairs, Tenaska, Inc.
Jonathan Briggs, Regional Director of the Americas, Hydrogen Energy International
Eugene Trisko (on behalf of the United Mine Workers of America)

Friday, April 24, 2009:  Day 4
WHEN:      10:00 a.m. on Friday, April 24
WHERE:      2123 Rayburn House Office Building

Panel 1:  Vice President Al Gore and Senator John Warner:  Bipartisan Leaders' Views on the ACES Legislation
The Honorable Al Gore, former Vice President of the United States
The Honorable John Warner, former United States Senator

Panel 2:  Energy Efficiency, Transportation, Building Appliances, and Utilities
Ian Bowles, Secretary, Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs, Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Dave McCurdy, President and CEO, Alliance for Automobile Manufacturers
Alan Reuther, Legislative Director, International Union, United Automobile, Aerospace & Agricultural Implement Workers of America (UAW)
Dan Sperling, Director, Institute of Transportation Studies, University of California Davis
David Friedman, Research Director, Clean Vehicles Program, Union of Concerned Scientists
David Gardiner, President, David Gardiner & Associates, LLC (on behalf of the Energy Future Coalition)
Jeff Genzer, Counsel, National Association of State Energy Officials
Andrew Delaski, Executive Director, Appliance Standards Awareness Project

Panel 3:  Carbon Market Assurance, State Roles, Clean Air Act, and Adaptation
Bill Becker, Executive Director National Association of Clean Air Agencies
Tia Nelson, Executive Secretary, Board of Commissioners of Public Lands, State of Wisconsin
Carl Royal, Counsel, Schiff Hardin LLP, formerly Senior Vice President and General Counsel, Chicago Mercantile Exchange
Jon Anda, Executive-in-Residence, Fuqua School of Business, Duke University, Visiting Fellow Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions
David Doniger, Policy Director, Climate Center, Natural Resources Defense Council
Patricia Mulroy, General Manager, Las Vegas Nevada Water District/Southern Nevada Water Authority

** The hearings will be webcast at

** Witness list is subject to change