More than 30 U.S. Senators highlight potential threats to economy and environment


Washington (March 29, 2017) – Senator Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.) today joined Senator Michael Bennet and more than 29 U.S. Senators in the introduction of legislation to rescind President Trump’s Executive Order to reverse several landmark U.S. initiatives to combat climate change.   


“This executive order is one massive giveaway to big oil and coal corporations at the expense of decades of progress on climate change, clean energy and public health,” said Senator Markey. “I am proud to join Senator Bennet and my colleagues in this legislation that will help ensure we continue to grow our economy, create jobs and protect the health of children and seniors.”


“By halting this Executive Order, we will keep current safeguards in place to combat climate change, protect American jobs, and preserve our path toward energy independence,” said Senator Bennet.


The bill, titled the Clean Air, Healthy Kids Act, would block federal agencies from implementing the actions outlined in the Executive Order signed Tuesday by President Trump. These actions include reevaluating the Clean Power Plan, which is currently on track to provide $54 billion in climate and health benefits each year, prevent thousands of premature deaths and asthma attacks in children, reduce electricity bills for homes and businesses, and create thousands of good-paying jobs. 


The following Senators cosponsored this legislation: 


Michael Bennet (D-CO)

Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)

Cory Booker (D-NJ)

Ben Cardin (D-MD)

Tom Carper (D-DE)

Chris Coons (D-DE)

Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV)

Dick Durbin (D-IL)

Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)

Al Franken (D-MN)

Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)

Kamala Harris (D-CA)

Maggie Hassan (D-NH)

Martin Heinrich (D-NM)

Mazie Hirono (D-HI)

Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)

Patrick Leahy (D-VT)

Edward Markey (D-MA)

Bob Menendez (D-NJ)

Jeff Merkley (D-OR)

Chris Murphy (D-CT)

Patty Murray (D-WA)

Bill Nelson (D-FL)

Jack Reed (D-RI)

Bernie Sanders (D-VT)

Brian Schatz (D-HI)

Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)

Tom Udall (D-NM)

Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)

Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)

Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)

Ron Wyden (D-OR)


Click HERE for a copy of the bill.