Washington (October 22, 2021) – In three weeks, President Joe Biden will attend the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change 26th Conference of Parties (COP26), where he will be expected to advocate for global climate cooperation, secure additional emission reduction commitments, and catalyze bold action from world leaders to prevent a global temperature rise greater than 1.5 degrees Celsius. Ahead of COP26, Senator Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.), Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), and Rep. Ilhan Omar (MN-05) today led 58 colleagues in a bicameral letter to President Biden urging him to secure a deal on his Build Back Better agenda that maintains strong climate provisions. The lawmakers outlined a “climate test” for the reconciliation package, which includes the scientifically necessary emissions reduction goal of cutting climate pollution at least in half by 2030, while creating good union jobs and advancing environmental, racial, and economic justice.

“The climate crisis presents deadlines that are imposed on us by science -- deadlines that are rapidly passing us by,” write the lawmakers in their letter. “The COP26 summit could be the last opportunity for world leaders to take bold action before it is too late to secure a livable climate by limiting global warming to 1.5 degrees Celsius. We’re facing an existential crisis, with American leadership, economic prosperity, and our very lives at stake.”

A copy of the letter can be found HERE
Other Senators signing the letter include Senators Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.) , Cory Booker (D-NJ) and Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.)

Members of the House of Representatives signing the letter include Reps. Emanuel Cleaver (MO-05), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Mondaire Jones (NY-17), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Marie Newman (IL-03), Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14), Ayanna Pressley (MA-07), Rashida Tlaib (MI-13), Peter Welch (D-VT), Karen Bass (CA-37), Jamaal Bowman (NY-16), André Carson (IN-07), Yvette D. Clarke (NY-09), Nanette Diaz Barragán (CA-44), Jesús G. "Chuy" García (IL-04), Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ-03), Carolyn B. Maloney (NY-12), Mike Quigley (IL-05), Jamie Raskin (MD-08), Jan Schakowsky (IL-09), Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Alma S. Adams, PhD. (NC-12), Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), Jake Auchincloss (MA-04), Doris Matsui (CA-06), Jimmy Gomez (CA-34), A. Donald McEachin (VA-04), Donald S. Beyer Jr. (VA-08), James P. McGovern (MA-02), Earl Blumenauer (OR-03), Jerry McNerney (CA-09), Jared Huffman (CA-02), Grace Meng (NY-06), Julia Brownley (CA-26), Hank Johnson (GA-04), Jerry Nadler (NY-10), Ro Khanna (CA-17), Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-08), Donald M. Payne, Jr. (NJ-10), Gerry Connolly (VA-11), John Larson (CT-01), Danny K. Davis (IL-07), Mike Levin (CA-49), Debbie Dingell (MI-12), Alan Lowenthal (CA-47), Adam Smith (WA-09), Mark Takano (CA-41), Paul Tonko (NY-20), Melanie A. Stansbury (NM-01), Dina Titus (NV-03), Thomas R. Suozzi (NY-04) and Nikema Williams (GA-05).